Something Wild

1977, Star Wars was released, and I was right there riding that band wagon, I loved that movie, I spent my allowance on the toys. One of my favourite Momisms comes from those times… “Don’t open it in the car, you’ll loose the guns!” Special times and memories are linked to that movie, but something slipped through the cracks.

I really really really wanted to see Pete’s Dragon. I love dragons and animation and music, it was right up my alley as far as I could tell. But for some reason, we never went. I guess no one but me was that interested. So we never went and to this day I still have not seen it. I don’t really even know anymore if I would like it.

The other day I was browsing through youtube, and saw a Lindsey Sterling video I hadn’t seen yet. Something Wild. I really love her music and her videos are usually so creative and magical. Usually it’s just her and her violin and dancing, but this one had a man singing, Andrew McMahon. I wasn’t sure about this one, but it seemed nice enough. That quickly changed and for some reason I was getting rather emotionally effected and the moment when the dragon appeared I was in tears. About that time I remembered they were remaking Pete’s Dragon.  Not sure why all this connected with me in such a way that affected me so strongly.  Something wild had been hiding deeply hidden I guess. Either way I have decided to go watch the remake of a movie I never saw, that I may not really like, but there’s a dragon in it, so it has that going for it.

green glow dragon with border

 

 

Leave a Reply

