Winners of the Mysterious Magical Cat Contest

This was a bit of a tricky and challenging contest in that it seems Mysterious and Magical Cats can have a rather vague interpretation. The votes were very spread out and there were many ties in second and third positions, but there was a clear winner with votes for:

The Cat That Walked By Himself – Iryna Burkova

the-cat-that-walked-by-himself-iryna-burkova

Earning the 1st Place Prize – Purrfectly Meowverlous!

What can be more mysterious than a black cat peaking out from the shadows? Lovely composition in this beautiful capture.

So to break the ties I am using my administrative authority and I declare

Fairy Kitty – KJ Swan

fairy-kitty-kj-swan

as Second Place – This is the Cat’s Meow!

Such a whimsical clever cat, looks like she is illustrated straight out of a fairy tale. Perhaps she is a cousin to Puss’n’Boots?

So for third place I am going to call it a tie with

The Cats On Night Watch – Jeffrey Koss

the-cats-on-night-watch-jeffrey-koss

and

Scarlatti – Jolante Hesse

scarlatti-jolante-hesse

The kitties cheer! Mew Mew Mew!

and equal in votes so getting honourable mentions are:

Chartreuse – Iryna Burkova

chartreuse-iryna-burkova

Cat In The Red Hat – Carol Cavalaris

cat-in-the-red-hat-carol-cavalaris

For me personally, if there was a jury of just me, the piece that I liked best and completely fulfilled the concept I was looking for it would be:

Mystical Cat That Brings Good Luck – Sofia Goldberg

mystical-cat-that-brings-good-luck-sofia-metal-queen

This is such a fun image and beautifully rendered, and the title says it all. This Mysterious Cat is Magical.

Probably because I like cats so much I found so many images I really enjoyed in this contest, I wish I could highlight many more. I recommend taking a look through the contest gallery for yourself if you can. In the mean time I will leave you with a few more of my favourites, more because they fit the theme I was looking for in the contest but they also cater to my personal taste as well.

Cosmic Lion – Ken Church

lion-in-the-stars-ken-church

Black Cat Blues – Nick Gustafson

black-cat-blues-nick-gustafson

Cat In The Dreaming Hat – Carol Cavalaris

cat-in-the-dreaming-hat-carol-cavalaris

Cheetah – Robert D McBain

cheetah-robert-d-mcbain

Intrigue The Cat – Georgia’s Art Brush

intrigue-the-cat-georgia-brushhandle

Thank you to everyone who participated in the contest, I hope you all had fun and enjoyed the variety of imagery as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

